Posts Tagged: 2015

Favorite Books of 2015

Favorite Books of 2015

Get your gift cards ready, because here it is: our annual list of favorite books! We read many, many 2015 releases (and sampled many more), and here are the ones we feel you shouldn’t miss. Kim’s Favorite 2015 Releases Once again, unlike so many lists you’ll see in publications, my list is comprised almost entirely of fantasy/science fiction. I would like to point out Archivist Wasp and The Awesome as two wonderful books, fantasy and paranormal respectively, that I think are deserving of more attention! All in all, it was a really great year for genre fiction (more so on the fantasy side). There are certainly some books I just didn’t get to that I know would’ve made an appearance here (Simon Vs.the Homo Sapiens Agenda immediately springs to mind). It was particularly hard to keep up with reading during the last several months of the year thanks to my… Read more »

Divider

Sorcerer to the Crown: Review

Sorcerer to the Crown: Review

In many ways, this book was such a perfect Christmas-time read. It is a Regency-era British historical fantasy that delights in the magic employed within its pages, and the utter charm of its characters and its world. The writing is also a treat; completely in the style of a book that had been written in the Regency era, it more than does its job in conveying the reader so completely to the world on its pages. When you want a book that’s going to wholly transport you, this is the sort you reach for. In the world of Sorcerer to the Crown, Britain’s supply of magic has been on the decline for years. The flow of magic from Fairyland into the mortal realm has all but stopped, as have the presence of familiars, the spirits/vessels of magic needed to make a mere magician into a sorcerer. This being Regency Britain,… Read more »

Divider

Front Lines: Review

Front Lines: Review

What if the draft had been extended to young women in WWII as well as men? That’s the premise of Michael Grant’s new book, Front Lines, and that’s pretty much all I needed to know before making grabby hands at it at NCTE this year. I saw the cover, saw the tagline – “she’s fighting for her country” – and was like, oh yes, I shall be reading you, book. I mean, I will read alternate histories any day of the week and if they’re alternate histories that focus on women’s experiences, then hell yes, I’m there. And as far as that goes, Front Lines did not disappoint! So Front Lines follows three young women – Rio, Frangie, and Rainy – as they enlist in the army and are shipped overseas. They have different motivations: Rio, a white girl from California, wants to do her part (but is also talked into it… Read more »

Divider

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken: giveaway!

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken: giveaway!

Here’s a fun package that came my way recently–I love the cover, and the goodies tie in nicely to the travel theme. After Tonya’s glowing review for The Darkest Minds, I’m very excited to read Alexandra Bracken’s new book Passenger, which comes out right after the holidays! You know we rarely do promo-only posts, but I like the author very much on social media–seriously, she tweets thoughtful and fun things, and her adorable puppy looks like a baby Chewbacca–and I knew a lot of our readers would be excited about this book, too. (Alex, if you’re reading this, I think you need this shirt for this Friday.) We’re giving you an opportunity to win a copy of the book below, but first, here’s a little bit more about it: About the Book In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar… Read more »

Divider

Not If I See You First: Review

Not If I See You First: Review

This is the sort of book where it would have received a higher rating if this was my sort of book. It’s a quality book. It’s very well written and well paced, the characters are fully fleshed out, believable, and flawed, and there are lessons to be learned and hearts to be broken and mended. It’s just not really a Kim book, and I didn’t really know that going into it. I can like contemporaries when they’re romantic and mostly cutesy (with some gravity thrown in for balance). I am saying this so you know to take my rating with a grain of salt. I think usual fans of contemporaries will really like this one! In actuality, this is a lot different than I thought it would be. I thought this was going to be a book about broken hearts and second chances and slowly learning to come back together…. Read more »

Divider

The Scorpion Rules: Review + Erin Bow dinner + giveaway

The Scorpion Rules: Review + Erin Bow dinner + giveaway

You get two for the price of one today–Layla has a review of The Scorpion Rules for you, and Wendy has a giveaway + recap of the Erin Bow event she attended awhile back! Review: I enjoyed the hell out of this book. I have been in the middle of a fairly severe reading slump (and am also reading nonstop for my dissertation, so you know, take that into account, too) and The Scorpion Rules is one of the few books that have successfully broken through the haze of grumpiness I’ve been in for the last few months. But The Scorpion Rules really worked for me. From what I can tell, though, it seems like it’s been a fairly divisive read – you’ll either love it or you’ll hate it. Luckily for me, I am firmly on Team Scorpion Rules (and Team Talis!). If you like dark humor, morally ambiguous AIs,… Read more »

Divider

The Impostor Queen glossary + giveaway

The Impostor Queen glossary + giveaway

Today, we’re kicking off a mini tour for Sarah Fine’s upcoming book The Impostor Queen! Sarah is one of our favorite authors here at The Midnight Garden, and we’re all pretty excited about her new series. About the Book: Publication Date: January 5th, 2015 The elders chose Elli to be queen, but they chose wrong in this beautifully crafted novel in the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Victoria Aveyard. Sixteen-year-old Elli was a small child when the Elders of Kupari chose her to succeed the Valtia, the queen who wields infinitely powerful ice and fire magic. Since then, Elli has lived in the temple, surrounded by luxury and tutored by priests, as she prepares for the day when the Valtia perishes and the magic finds a new home in her. Elli is destined to be the most powerful Valtia to ever rule. But when the queen dies defending the kingdom… Read more »

Divider