Genre: science fiction

Divider

Otherbound: Review

Otherbound: Review

Otherbound is super interesting, you all. If you like incredibly original fantasy, detailed world-building, and diversity to the max in your reading, you should go pick up Otherbound. Here’s the premise: whenever Nolan blinks (or sleeps, or closes his eyes for any period of time whatsoever), he becomes trapped in Amara’s mind. He’s been diagnosed with epilepsy, but no medication seems to have much of an effect on his blackouts. These blackouts have been pervasive since he was a little kid, and have had real physical, emotional, and social consequences for him: he was hit by a car during one blackout and now wears a prosthetic leg; he feels helpless at his lack of control over his blackouts; he also can’t spend time with family and friends without worrying about whether he’s going to get pulled into Amara’s mind. Amara lives in a totally different world – the Dunelands – and has no… Read more »

Divider

A Thousand Pieces of You: guest post + giveaway

A Thousand Pieces of You: guest post + giveaway

If you enjoy time parallel universe/time travel stories, A Thousand Pieces of You is probably on your TBR list already–and it’s a book that will likely appeal to fans of All Our Yesterdays and Every Day, particularly if you like romance! I’m a big fan of Claudia Gray’s Evernight series so was very excited to hear she had a new book coming out. I was also tickled to find that this story takes Marguerite to many different locations and time periods as she tries to solve the mystery behind her father’s murder, including a visit back to the Romanov empire. There have been several YA books with Russian settings this year, but this one definitely stands out with its scifi elements. As part of the official blog tour hosted by Rock Star Book Tours, the author is with us today to share why she felt absolutely compelled to write this… Read more »

Divider

The Body Electric: Review

The Body Electric: Review

Raise your hands if you enjoy any of the following: Conspiracy theories! Fighting the man! Technology in the future! Androids! What it means to be a human! …or embodied! …or an individual subject! Playing “catch that allusion” re: sci-fi as a genre! Because The Body Electric thinks about all of these things, and if these are things you are also interested in thinking about, you’re in for a good time, I promise. While I wasn’t totally in love with everything in this book (and I’ll get to that), the book does a lot of things right: it entertains many interesting questions, features solid world-building, and is written beautifully. And those aspects were enough to make my readerly experience a positive one. Here’s the premise: our heroine, Ella Shepherd, lives in postwar Malta in the new city of New Venice, the site of a new global government. Shortly after Ella discovers that she… Read more »

Divider

Ancillary Sword: Review

Ancillary Sword: Review

Breq is a spaceship. Or, rather, she used to be. Once the AI consciousness of the ship known as Justice of Toren, Breq is now contained in a single ancillary (the how and why of which is detailed in Ancillary Justice). Perhaps some more explanation? An ancillary is a human body (most often a civilian casualty) with a ship’s consciousness and some rather tricked out implants that make them super soldiers. Ancillaries are an extension of the ship and see and know everything the ship does. Ships have many ancillaries and they are all collectively the same entity. When a human becomes an ancillary the person they were is dead forever. Through such means the Radchaai Empire has been able to conquer and colonize much of humanity. Okay, that’s as simple a primer I can do without giving too much away! Man, I just love this series. Finally, finally! Here… Read more »

Divider

Love Is the Drug: Review

Love Is the Drug: Review

I’ve had my eye on Love Is the Drug since I first heard of it. I haven’t read Alaya Dawn Johnson’s first young adult novel, The Summer Prince – a post-apocalyptic novel set in Brazil that features queer relationships – but it’s been on my to-read list for awhile. (Peyton, however, has a great review of The Summer Prince here on GoodReads. Check it out!) Anyway, I figured Love Is the Drug would be catnip for me. I love post-(or almost-but-not-quite) apocalyptic fiction. I love fiction about bioterrorism. And I love YA fiction that features diverse characters. Also also, I will happily read anything that is sold as “such and such meets Michael Crichton’s The Andromeda Strain.” Thank you, I will take two of those. And on that front, Love Is the Drug did not disappoint. Refer to the blurb once again; it is absolutely all of these things. It is def fiction about… Read more »

Divider

Station Eleven: Review

Station Eleven: Review

This is a fascinating story, a combination of post-apocalyptic genre fiction and literary fiction. A novel that is not so much concerned with the how of survival as it is with the why. It is a survival story but it is not survivalist. There are almost no heart pounding action scenes or encounters with the depraved dregs of humanity. There are big questions at hand. What does it mean to be alive when almost everyone else is dead? How do we go on when the world we knew is gone? How do you make a life in the graveyard of civilization? There is a certain horror element in how real the situation could be. A pandemic flu could come and wipe out humanity. There have been great plagues throughout history. In the age of air travel our world is more interconnected than ever. We will carry that virus farther and… Read more »

Divider

Echoes of Us: guest post + giveaway

Echoes of Us: guest post + giveaway

Last year, Kat Zhang shared her journey to publication story with us, speaking to her experiences as a young author juggling school, writing, and the publishing industry. It seems fitting that with Echoes of Us, the last book in her dystopian Hybrid Chronicles releasing this month, Kat is back with us to talk about the series coming to an end, and how her life has changed because of it. After all, we as fans get emotional when favorite series come to an end, so it’s only natural that authors get sentimental, too! If you haven’t tried this series yet and you enjoy science fiction with a more introspective bent, you must pick this one up sometime. I’d recommend it to fans of thoughtful, character-driven books like The Lost Girl. Saying Goodbye to a Series by Kat Zhang It’s a cool thing to have books that release almost exactly one year… Read more »

Divider