Posts Categorized: Wendy

The Scorpion Rules: Review + Erin Bow dinner + giveaway

The Scorpion Rules: Review + Erin Bow dinner + giveaway

You get two for the price of one today–Layla has a review of The Scorpion Rules for you, and Wendy has a giveaway + recap of the Erin Bow event she attended awhile back! Review: I enjoyed the hell out of this book. I have been in the middle of a fairly severe reading slump (and am also reading nonstop for my dissertation, so you know, take that into account, too) and The Scorpion Rules is one of the few books that have successfully broken through the haze of grumpiness I’ve been in for the last few months. But The Scorpion Rules really worked for me. From what I can tell, though, it seems like it’s been a fairly divisive read – you’ll either love it or you’ll hate it. Luckily for me, I am firmly on Team Scorpion Rules (and Team Talis!). If you like dark humor, morally ambiguous AIs,… Read more »

Divider

The Impostor Queen glossary + giveaway

The Impostor Queen glossary + giveaway

Today, we’re kicking off a mini tour for Sarah Fine’s upcoming book The Impostor Queen! Sarah is one of our favorite authors here at The Midnight Garden, and we’re all pretty excited about her new series. About the Book: Publication Date: January 5th, 2015 The elders chose Elli to be queen, but they chose wrong in this beautifully crafted novel in the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Victoria Aveyard. Sixteen-year-old Elli was a small child when the Elders of Kupari chose her to succeed the Valtia, the queen who wields infinitely powerful ice and fire magic. Since then, Elli has lived in the temple, surrounded by luxury and tutored by priests, as she prepares for the day when the Valtia perishes and the magic finds a new home in her. Elli is destined to be the most powerful Valtia to ever rule. But when the queen dies defending the kingdom… Read more »

Divider

The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall: review

The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall: review

INSANE ASYLUM FOR GIRLS. That’s enough to get anyone’s attention, but unlike many slick, cheap-thrills books that quickly bore me, The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall is one of the most well-crafted YA horror books I’ve read in ages. It’s a short but surprisingly thoughtful book, with good creepiness and suspense and sadness, as well as the right balance of teenage snark and feeling. It’s hard to juggle humor and darkness, but the author does a great job of that here. I also very much appreciated the writing–I loved the way the passage of time was described, which places the reader in an unsettled frame of mind, as well as the sensory experiences of being in Delia’s mind and body as she adjusts to living in the house. There are good plot twists, a well-written back story that doesn’t slow down the pace, and logical progression in character and plot… Read more »

Divider

Our Month on Instagram: October

Our Month on Instagram: October

It’s been such a busy year for all three of us–as you’ve probably noticed, we haven’t been around as much lately, but I’m literally thinking about you guys every single day. I thought it’d be fun to start posting occasional photos that we put on Instagram, since it seems like a nice way to stay connected even when we’re absent. I’ve been listening to the Harry Potter audiobooks, since they’re among the few things I seem to be able to concentrate on lately. Here’s the potions set from the Chamber of Secrets press junket from my old job, plus some Harry-inspired liquid lipsticks that both Layla and I love. These are also some of the books that arrived last month, plus a great mug I received as a present when I went to the GoodReads headquarters in San Francisco. I’ll be writing about that more in depth down the road,… Read more »

Divider

Classic MG Discussion: The Witches

Classic MG Discussion: The Witches

Wendy: Welcome to our discussion for Roald Dahl’s The Witches. This is the story of a boy named — um, this is where I realize the main character is unnamed! His grandmother charmingly calls him “my darling” often, but I’d never before realized he didn’t have a name. So let’s start again. This is the story of a boy who happens upon a gathering of witches (who despise children and want to wipe them off the face of the earth) while staying at a hotel in England with his Norwegian grandmother. It is a funny, sweet book that I’ve loved since I was little, so let’s begin! Layla: Woah, mind blown. Did not realize that child was unnamed either! Wendy: He’s given the name “Luke” in the movie, but yes, no name at all in the book. Layla: I also forgot his grandmother was Norwegian. I forgot a lot of this… Read more »

Divider

Hook’s Revenge, The Pirate Code: guest post!

Hook’s Revenge, The Pirate Code: guest post!

One of my favorite people on the planet is Heidi Shulz. She’s the author of the delightfully funny book Hook’s Revenge, which was one of my favorite debuts from last year–and now its sequel The Pirate Code is out! Heidi was actually in Los Angeles last month, and I got to celebrate the book’s release day with her. In the first photo, we’d just eaten mountains of pasta in Venice Beach, and Heidi is beaming over a plate of cannoli. <3 Here’s more about the new book: Fresh off a fearsome encounter with the Neverland crocodile, Jocelyn Hook decides the most practical plan is to hunt down her father’s famous fortune. After all, she’ll need the gold to fund her adventuring in the future. (And luckily, Hook left her the map.) But the map proves to be a bit harder to crack than Jocelyn had hoped, and she’s convinced that… Read more »

Divider

Queen of Shadows Tour: downloadable tattoos + giveaway

Queen of Shadows Tour: downloadable tattoos + giveaway

Welcome to our stop on the official Queen of Shadows blog tour, hosted by the founders of #MaasThirteen! Our love for all things Throne of Glass and Sarah J. Maas is well-documented here at The Midnight Garden, so we were pleased to be asked to participate this year. We’re pretty smug about the many readers we’ve hounded relentlessly into persuaded to read this series, and this latest installment is full of everything you’d expect and more: death-defying action scenes, BADASS WOMEN, insanely cool mythical creatures, and emotional trauma that could rip your heart out. I’ve made some downloadable Queen of Shadows tattoos so you can be reminded of Aelin–and really, what better way to spread love and awareness for the series than to wear its words on your body? Download Free Queen of Shadows Tattoos! The set includes all the tattoos shown above, and there are two sets on the page… Read more »

Divider