Posts Categorized: sarah fine

The Impostor Queen glossary + giveaway

The Impostor Queen glossary + giveaway

Today, we’re kicking off a mini tour for Sarah Fine’s upcoming book The Impostor Queen! Sarah is one of our favorite authors here at The Midnight Garden, and we’re all pretty excited about her new series. About the Book: Publication Date: January 5th, 2015 The elders chose Elli to be queen, but they chose wrong in this beautifully crafted novel in the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Victoria Aveyard. Sixteen-year-old Elli was a small child when the Elders of Kupari chose her to succeed the Valtia, the queen who wields infinitely powerful ice and fire magic. Since then, Elli has lived in the temple, surrounded by luxury and tutored by priests, as she prepares for the day when the Valtia perishes and the magic finds a new home in her. Elli is destined to be the most powerful Valtia to ever rule. But when the queen dies defending the kingdom… Read more »

Divider

Chaos by Sarah Fine: review

Chaos by Sarah Fine: review

What would you sacrifice for someone you love? In Chaos by Sarah Fine, the last installment of the Guardians of the Shadowlands series, Lela journeys into the dangerous Mazikin City to save her beloved Malachi, but finds that danger to herself is no match to the agony of watching danger to those she holds dear. This series is incredibly dark. The characters endure nightmarish suffering with very little hope for reward–not entirely surprising when most of it is literally set in hell. But the bleak savagery of this world is saved by the latent emotion that permeates this story. These human beings are facing depraved creatures, cold-hearted sentences, and painful torture, and yet they continue to hope and dream in the middle of impossible circumstances. The characters and relationships are all memorable, including Ana and Takeshi’s, as well as the assorted villains. So much thought and care is put into… Read more »

Divider

Of Metal and Wishes: Review

Of Metal and Wishes: Review

My goodness. This is a beautifully written, gruesome, creepy, and yet somehow intensely romantic read. Going into this I had no idea that it was a Phantom of the Opera retelling. I thought it was a paranormal read with an actual ghost featuring in there as a love interest. I do think it best to inform you this is not the case! Still, that is not to say there is no mystery to the Ghost of this story and the unfolding of that is one of the central joys of the book. I’ll leave you to it. :) I loved the characters in this story. Wen is such a courageous person, perhaps more so because, truly, she is timid and vulnerable. Full of self doubt and quick to take on the burden of self punishment, it is great to watch her transformation over the course of the story. The supporting… Read more »

Divider

Scan: Review + Giveaway

Scan: Review + Giveaway

So one way to succinctly summarize Scan is “Junior MacGyver vs. the Aliens.” Okay, there is more to it than that, but that is the basic gist. We follow the adventures of Tate Archer as he unwittingly unleashes a secret and powerful alien horde on his family. Kids these days! For me, the strongest point of the book was the characterization. For being a MacGyver-level, 11 language speaking, hacker, chemistry genius, Tate comes off as a normal teenage boy. He makes some really dumb (but understandable) mistakes. Sometimes he says the wrong things to his girlfriend, Christina. Perhaps he was even too normal in some ways. At the very beginning of the book Tate’s POV is just so obnoxiously male. He berates himself for being “a pussy.” His thoughts and the way he looks at Christina occasionally rove toward “leer” territory, but is balanced by how much you can tell that Tate really loves… Read more »

Divider

Literary Swoon: Sarah Fine + Box of Romance giveaway

Literary Swoon: Sarah Fine + Box of Romance giveaway

Welcome to Day Four of our Literary Swoon series! We’re celebrating Valentine’s Day with some of our favorite YA authors by asking them to share their favorite romantic book scenes. Today we’re so happy to welcome Sarah Fine to The Midnight Garden. Her debut urban fantasy novel Sanctum blew me away with its strong characters and imaginative world-building, and there’s even a bit of a Rose-Dimitri dynamic between Lela and Malachi! If you haven’t picked this one up, you MUST do it immediately–the swoon factor is out of the stratosphere. Sarah graciously shares her favorite romantic scene with us below. Fair warning: spoilers may follow. ———————————————– Sarah Fine’s Favorite Romantic Scene I’m a sucker for complete surrender in a romance, especially when someone powerful is willing to lay him- or herself at the feet of the beloved. For that reason, some of my favorite romantic scenes come from Graceling by Kristin… Read more »

Divider