Posts Categorized: josin mcquein

Premeditated: review + giveaway!

Premeditated: review + giveaway!

Title: PremeditatedAuthor:Josin L. McQueinRating:4 out of 5 starsRelease Date:October 8th, 2013Publisher:Delacorte PressAge Group: YASource: ARC provided by the publisher How far would you go to seek revenge? After Dinah’s cousin Claire tries to kill herself, Dinah is determined to find the boy responsible by going undercover at Claire’s school. Even if she has to dye her hair and  pretend to be someone she’s not, it’s a small price to pay for getting to the bottom of her cousin’s torment. Problem is, no one is telling the truth, and Dinah has to decide whether to trust what her feelings tell her–or to trust what the evidence suggests. Premeditated is pretty famous for a killer query letter that Josin McQuein sent several years back to her now-agent. In the space of a handful of short, staccato sentences, the author set up an awesome premise as well as a distinct style and rhythm… Read more »

Divider

Arclight Author Josin McQuein on the Origins of Her Unusual SciFi Thriller

Arclight Author Josin McQuein on the Origins of Her Unusual SciFi Thriller

As our readers probably know, Tonya and I both really enjoyed Arclight by Josin L. McQuein. (Read the blog review here!)  This scifi thriller is unusual because it combines traditional elements of the genre with a mood that sometimes veers a little closer to horror, which makes a fantastic combination. With the book just released in stores, and with the recent announcement that it’s been optioned by Imagine Entertainment for a film, we’re excited to have the author with us today chatting about the origins of her story. Josin has been a great friend to our blog, so please help us give her a warm welcome! ~ Wendy ———————————————– What is ARCLIGHT? by Josin L. McQuein I get that question a lot. The blurb on the back of the book is pretty open, and can be interpreted a dozen different ways. It’s an unusual mash-up of genres, but to really… Read more »

Divider

Arclight: review

Arclight: review

A harrowing sci-fi thriller about a teen who’s survived horrors but lost her memory, for fans of Veronica Roth, Stephen King, and Justin Cronin. When I read that description, I actually groaned. Comparing anything to those authors is just as bad as every new dystopian being coined the next Hunger Games; it nearly always sets up the reader for disappointment. What could possibly live up to those standards? Well, Arclight by Josin McQuein kind of… does. It’s got the dystopian feel of Divergent, the King creep-factor, and a serving of government experiment gone horribly wrong courtesy of Cronin. Marina woke up in the Arclight hospital, with no memory of how she got there. All she knows is what she’s been told: they found her in the Grey, hiding from the Fades, and brought her back to the compound. She doesn’t know who she is, or where she came from before that–no… Read more »

Divider