Posts Categorized: guest post

None of the Above: guest post + box of Harper ARCs giveaway

None of the Above: guest post + box of Harper ARCs giveaway

I’m asked to host a fair number of blog tours, and I almost always turn them down. It’s truly a labor of love, because it takes so much time and effort if you want to do justice to the book that’s being featured. When None of the Above came across my desk, however, I couldn’t say no. It’s a compelling story about a girl named Kristin whose life is like any other teenager’s, until one night as she and her boyfriend are becoming intimate, she discovers that something doesn’t feel right. When she goes to the doctor, she finds out that she is intersex, a condition that so many people seem to know so little about–myself included. In telling us Kristin’s story, I.W. Gregorio puts a spotlight on underrepresented members of our society; as Kristin learns about intersex, we do too. It’s important to understand the physical and psychological nuances… Read more »

Divider

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda: Review + Guest Post

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda: Review + Guest Post

When you take the chance on doing a cover reveal for a book you haven’t read yet, it’s a leap of faith: not only that the artwork is going to be eye-catching, but that the book is going to be awesome. When we hosted the cover reveal for Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda last year, I had a good feeling about the synopsis, but I had no idea how much I was going to enjoy the book! It’s a funny, sweet story about a boy who falls in love with the stranger who’s writing him letters–a stranger who seems to know Simon’s heart better than he does himself. I liked that in this coming out/coming of age story, Simon is sure of his own sexuality, even though he’s painfully vulnerable because he’s not sure how everyone around him will react to his being gay. The book features… Read more »

Divider

This Shattered World: Meet the Characters + giveaway

This Shattered World: Meet the Characters + giveaway

If you’re a fan of Tarver and Lilac from These Broken Stars, I don’t even know how to explain how much you’re going to love the new characters in This Shattered World! This companion story set in the same universe follows the awesome Jubilee Chase and the guy she absolutely, positively should not get involved with, Flynn Cormac. And, well…you know how that goes. ;) I thought Tarver was going to be hard to live up to, but Flynn’s going to win you over fast–but not as fast as Jubilee does, because she’s kickass from page 1. I have a serious girl crush on her and I’m not afraid to admit it. There is so much to say about how the Starbound universe has deepened and expanded in this second book, but the characters are a great place to introduce you to this fantastic story. To kick off the official… Read more »

Divider

A Thousand Pieces of You: guest post + giveaway

A Thousand Pieces of You: guest post + giveaway

If you enjoy time parallel universe/time travel stories, A Thousand Pieces of You is probably on your TBR list already–and it’s a book that will likely appeal to fans of All Our Yesterdays and Every Day, particularly if you like romance! I’m a big fan of Claudia Gray’s Evernight series so was very excited to hear she had a new book coming out. I was also tickled to find that this story takes Marguerite to many different locations and time periods as she tries to solve the mystery behind her father’s murder, including a visit back to the Romanov empire. There have been several YA books with Russian settings this year, but this one definitely stands out with its scifi elements. As part of the official blog tour hosted by Rock Star Book Tours, the author is with us today to share why she felt absolutely compelled to write this… Read more »

Divider

In Real Life: Tour Stop

In Real Life: Tour Stop

  I must admit my interest was immediately piqued when I heard about this Young Adult graphic novel that appealed to both my gamer soul and my feminist sensibilities. I was not let down! I enjoyed this graphic novel so much I thought the only flaw was its brevity. Perhaps too short to really go as in depth in characterization, or with the issues as I’d’ve liked, but still an all around solid story. I found In Real Life to be a very heartfelt and eye opening story about the intersection of gaming, feminism, economics, and labor rights.     And as such, we are so pleased to be a part of the 30 Questions with Cory Doctorow tour! Below I am privileged to present the questions and answers on our leg of the tour.   Anda gains a lot of confidence through her success with the all-girl gaming guild. What message… Read more »

Divider

What’s On Your Nightstand? with Ameriie!

What’s On Your Nightstand? with Ameriie!

Ever wondered if celebrities read YA? I’ve always suspected there are fans lurking everywhere, but I was still tickled when I suddenly realized that the Ameriie I’d been chatting with on GoodReads for months was the Ameriie–you know, superstar recording artist and actress. No big deal. I enjoy peeking in to see what she’s reading from time to time–she’s got eclectic taste, ladies and gents–and I love that she actively uses it as a reader and as a fan. I also discovered that she’s got some very exciting bookish projects in the works, so I thought it’d be fun to invite her to tell us a little more about what she’s planning, as well as to give us a peek at her bookshelves and favorite reading spots in her house. Ready to peer over her shoulder? I know I am! Where the Magic Happens by Ameriie The Reading Chair I… Read more »

Divider

Echoes of Us: guest post + giveaway

Echoes of Us: guest post + giveaway

Last year, Kat Zhang shared her journey to publication story with us, speaking to her experiences as a young author juggling school, writing, and the publishing industry. It seems fitting that with Echoes of Us, the last book in her dystopian Hybrid Chronicles releasing this month, Kat is back with us to talk about the series coming to an end, and how her life has changed because of it. After all, we as fans get emotional when favorite series come to an end, so it’s only natural that authors get sentimental, too! If you haven’t tried this series yet and you enjoy science fiction with a more introspective bent, you must pick this one up sometime. I’d recommend it to fans of thoughtful, character-driven books like The Lost Girl. Saying Goodbye to a Series by Kat Zhang It’s a cool thing to have books that release almost exactly one year… Read more »

Divider