Posts Categorized: giveaway

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue: Cover Reveal, Excerpt, + Giveaway!

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue: Cover Reveal, Excerpt, + Giveaway!

    Today we’re hosting the exclusive cover reveal for The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee! I enjoyed the author’s debut This Monstrous Thing, and I’m a huge fan of her weekly #BygoneBadassBroads storytime on Twitter. She gives back so much to the YA community through education and enthusiasm, so I’m delighted to help unveil her upcoming historical novel. Friends, you are going to want to gaze adoringly into this book’s eyes and buy it dinner. It features pirates and villains and two rascally boys who are lifelong friends, but who are OH, also fighting their growing feelings for each other. *swoon* Mackenzi joins us today to talk about sowing wild oats, tackling historical fiction tropes, and being queer in the 17th century. Watch Mackenzi Lee Introduce The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue As Mackenzi says, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is the… Read more »

Divider

Crooked Kingdom: Blog Tour Stop + Giveaway

Crooked Kingdom: Blog Tour Stop + Giveaway

Today, I’m delighted to be hosting the final blog tour stop for Crooked Kingdom, the feverishly anticipated sequel to last year’s stunning Six of Crows. Leigh Bardugo is here to tell us how Kaz Brekker came to be, and then I’ll be telling you why I think he’s fantastic. We’re also giving away an amazing prize pack at the end, so stick around! Leigh Bardugo on Kaz Brekker’s Origin “When I first conceived of a character known as Dirtyhands, I thought I might put him in a folktale—this guy who would travel from town to town, doing terrible deeds and messing with dark magic for a price. He’d be a legend, but also reviled for what he was willing to do. I never wrote that story, but the character stuck with me, and eventually he became Kaz Brekker, the Bastard of the Barrel, the boy you never want to owe… Read more »

Divider

Girl Against the Universe: Why Anxiety Doesn’t Make Us Weak + international giveaway

Girl Against the Universe: Why Anxiety Doesn’t Make Us Weak + international giveaway

This is where I would usually write an introduction about why you should check out Paula Stokes’ new book Girl Against the Universe, but honestly, her guest post does a brilliant job of that already! It’s a contemporary YA novel about a girl named Maguire who feels guilty for surviving a bad accident and has started to believe she might be the cause of anything bad that happens around her, and it’s a story that’s strong on friendships, parent/teen relationships, positive therapy experiences, and more. I think many readers can relate to being introverts, or feeling nervous in social situations, so I’m honored to have Paula here to talk about how fear can manifest in an anxiety like Maguire’s. She’s also generously offering up an autographed hardcover to our readers, so stick around for the giveaway at the end. Why Anxiety Does Not Make Us Weak by Paula Stokes I… Read more »

Divider

Bright Smoke, Cold Fire: Exclusive Cover Reveal + Giveaway

Bright Smoke, Cold Fire: Exclusive Cover Reveal + Giveaway

When Rosamund Hodge asked whether I’d be interested in revealing the cover for her new book Bright Smoke, Cold Fire, I did something I rarely do: I said yes immediately, sight unseen. Because: Her two previous books, Cruel Beauty and Crimson Bound, have been among my favorite YA retellings Both of those covers were gorgeous, and captured the rapturous feeling of her darkly romantic fairy tales Rosamund has written so many fascinating guest posts before. I knew we’d have a treat for our readers, especially having read the synopsis, which says it was inspired by Romeo and Juliet…but with necromancers. (!!!) But oh my stars, I still wasn’t prepared for what she sent. Are you ready to set your eyes upon this vision?     Are you sure?     Just look at this beauty!   The mood of this cover is utterly gorgeous–I love the somber colors contrasted with… Read more »

Divider

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken: giveaway!

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken: giveaway!

Here’s a fun package that came my way recently–I love the cover, and the goodies tie in nicely to the travel theme. After Tonya’s glowing review for The Darkest Minds, I’m very excited to read Alexandra Bracken’s new book Passenger, which comes out right after the holidays! You know we rarely do promo-only posts, but I like the author very much on social media–seriously, she tweets thoughtful and fun things, and her adorable puppy looks like a baby Chewbacca–and I knew a lot of our readers would be excited about this book, too. (Alex, if you’re reading this, I think you need this shirt for this Friday.) We’re giving you an opportunity to win a copy of the book below, but first, here’s a little bit more about it: About the Book In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar… Read more »

Divider

The Scorpion Rules: Review + Erin Bow dinner + giveaway

The Scorpion Rules: Review + Erin Bow dinner + giveaway

You get two for the price of one today–Layla has a review of The Scorpion Rules for you, and Wendy has a giveaway + recap of the Erin Bow event she attended awhile back! Review: I enjoyed the hell out of this book. I have been in the middle of a fairly severe reading slump (and am also reading nonstop for my dissertation, so you know, take that into account, too) and The Scorpion Rules is one of the few books that have successfully broken through the haze of grumpiness I’ve been in for the last few months. But The Scorpion Rules really worked for me. From what I can tell, though, it seems like it’s been a fairly divisive read – you’ll either love it or you’ll hate it. Luckily for me, I am firmly on Team Scorpion Rules (and Team Talis!). If you like dark humor, morally ambiguous AIs,… Read more »

Divider

The Impostor Queen glossary + giveaway

The Impostor Queen glossary + giveaway

Today, we’re kicking off a mini tour for Sarah Fine’s upcoming book The Impostor Queen! Sarah is one of our favorite authors here at The Midnight Garden, and we’re all pretty excited about her new series. About the Book: Publication Date: January 5th, 2015 The elders chose Elli to be queen, but they chose wrong in this beautifully crafted novel in the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Victoria Aveyard. Sixteen-year-old Elli was a small child when the Elders of Kupari chose her to succeed the Valtia, the queen who wields infinitely powerful ice and fire magic. Since then, Elli has lived in the temple, surrounded by luxury and tutored by priests, as she prepares for the day when the Valtia perishes and the magic finds a new home in her. Elli is destined to be the most powerful Valtia to ever rule. But when the queen dies defending the kingdom… Read more »

Divider