Posts Categorized: dystopian/post-apocalyptic

An EPIC In the After giveaway!

An EPIC In the After giveaway!

Psst. We’re teaming up with our pals over at Epic Reads to bring you another EPIC giveaway! In the After by Demitria Lunetta comes out tomorrow on June 25, 2013, and we have 10 finished copies up for grabs for our lucky readers. Synopsis: They hear the most silent of footsteps.They are faster than anything you’ve ever seen.And They won’t stop chasing you…until you are dead. Amy is watching TV when it happens, when the world is attacked by Them. These vile creatures are rapidly devouring mankind. Most of the population is overtaken, but Amy manages to escape—and even rescue “Baby,” a toddler left behind in the chaos. Marooned in Amy’s house, the girls do everything they can to survive—and avoid Them at all costs. After years of hiding, they are miraculously rescued and taken to New Hope, a colony of survivors living in a former government research compound. While… Read more »

Divider

The 5th Wave: review and giveaway

The 5th Wave: review and giveaway

Title: The 5th Wave Author: Rick Yancey Rating:5 out of 5 stars Release Date: May 7, 2013 Publisher: Putnam Juvenile Age Group: YA Source: ARC provided by publisher If you could buy just one book this year, The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey should be at the top of your list. I’m just going to say it: this book could very well be the next Hunger Games! I’ve never seen a book more likely to be a crowd-pleaser, nor one with more potential to sweep away a legion of fans. This book was so crazily addictive that I read it in literally half a day, and several months afterwards I am still jazzed over its edge-of-your-seat action. On the surface, you’ve seen this story before: post-apocalyptic survival story, a butt-kicking girl separated from a loved one, and boys who can’t always be trusted. Aliens have taken over the planet, with… Read more »

Divider

Arclight: review

Arclight: review

A harrowing sci-fi thriller about a teen who’s survived horrors but lost her memory, for fans of Veronica Roth, Stephen King, and Justin Cronin. When I read that description, I actually groaned. Comparing anything to those authors is just as bad as every new dystopian being coined the next Hunger Games; it nearly always sets up the reader for disappointment. What could possibly live up to those standards? Well, Arclight by Josin McQuein kind of… does. It’s got the dystopian feel of Divergent, the King creep-factor, and a serving of government experiment gone horribly wrong courtesy of Cronin. Marina woke up in the Arclight hospital, with no memory of how she got there. All she knows is what she’s been told: they found her in the Grey, hiding from the Fades, and brought her back to the compound. She doesn’t know who she is, or where she came from before that–no… Read more »

Divider

Fragments: review and giveaway

Fragments: review and giveaway

Title: Fragments (Partials #2)Author: Dan WellsRating: 4 out of 5 starsRelease Date: February 26, 2013Publisher: Balzer + BrayAge Group: YASource: ARC from publisher This review is spoiler-free, even if you haven’t read the first book in this series. In my review of last year’s Partials, I posted a handy check list to help readers decide whether the book was for them. If you’re a fan of well-written science fiction thrillers or post-apocalyptic novels with strong heroines, this series is one you should definitely check out! What do you need to know going into the sequel? — There are fantastic action sequences, full of taut suspense and emotion. — Survivalist enthusiasts will love it. During the first half of the book, Kira spends most of her time searching through rubble for clues to ParaGen’s involvement in the devastating events that decimated human society. — A mysterious character named Afa, who has… Read more »

Divider

DUALED Author Elsie Chapman’s Thankgiving Recipe

DUALED Author Elsie Chapman’s Thankgiving Recipe

Welcome to Day Two of our Debut Authors Celebration!  We’re thankful that publishers take a chance on new talent, and this week we’re featuring three authors whose 2013 debuts we’re anticipating. One of the books I’m really excited about for 2013 is Dualed, a city in which every person has an alternate–but only one will live beyond his or her twentieth birthday. Fifteen-year-old West only has one month to hunt down her alt to ensure her survival, but a tragic mistake shakes her confidence and makes her question the choices she’s made. This action-packed adventure sounds like a lot of fun, and I hear there’s an “unexpected romance” as well! Dualed will be released on February 26th, 2013. Author Elsie Chapman joins us on the blog today to share her favorite Thanksgiving memory and recipe. ~ Wendy Elsie Chapman’s Thanksgiving Memory As a second generation Chinese Canadian growing up in a… Read more »

Divider

The Lost Girl: review

The Lost Girl: review

The Lost Girlby Sangu Mandanna “Can we be certain of anyone’s soul, human or otherwise?” Fiction is often most meaningful when it explores questions we find too disturbing to ask in the everyday world. Through one girl’s struggle to claim her own identity, The Lost Girl addresses some fascinating ethical questions, all the while presenting a measured, powerful essay on the value of human life. Fifteen-year-old Eva lives, sleeps, and breathes someone else’s existence. As an echo, a carbon copy of a girl halfway across the world, she learns everything that Amarra learns and is even nearly forced to suffer the same physical injuries as her other. There have been various books that explore cloning, but what’s so unusual about this one is the psychological element, since it’s not just Eva’s organs that are being harvested, it’s her entire entity and identity. One of the things I liked best about… Read more »

Divider

Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic YA giveaway

Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic YA giveaway

Our last YA science fiction giveaway was so popular, we decided to do another one! Here’s your chance to win 3 cool new 2012 young adult titles with dystopian or post-apocalyptic themes. One lucky winner will receive all three books below, which includes two ARCs and one finished copy. Beta by Rachel CohnHere’s what caught my attention about this book: the publishing rep told me it started out with a older woman browsing in a boutique. But what’s she’s buying is not a dress or a handbag, but a teenage girl–a clone. I got chills hearing that! Release Date: October 16, 2012 The Forsaken by Lissa M. StasseThis is the first book in a dystopian trilogy. The cover is so awesome–I love how non-traditional it is for its genre! The story sounds a little bit like a Battle Royale-type scenario, since a 16-year-old girl with violent tendencies must try to… Read more »

Divider