Posts By: Wendy Darling

The Midnight Garden’s Favorite Books of 2014

The Midnight Garden’s Favorite Books of 2014

If you’ve been paying attention to year-end Best of Young Adult Fiction lists, it’s interesting to note how many contemporary books wind up taking home the biggest prizes. Where’s the love for science fiction and fantasy? It’s a little baffling–and frustrating–that these genres remain largely unappreciated outside of the book community until some sort of crossover/commercial appeal suddenly deems them worthy of attention. While we’re certainly fans of well-written realistic fiction, we do think these kinds of results are a good reminder of why book blogs continue to be valuable resources for prolific readers. So regardless of genre, if you’re a reviewer, please continue to champion the books you love to fellow booklovers, and try to do your best with people who might not otherwise give YA a chance. There’s an incredible amount of challenging and moving young adult literature outside of the few that are recognized by mainstream media… Read more »

Divider

Classic Readalong Discussion: Little Women

Classic Readalong Discussion: Little Women

It’s our very last classics discussion of the year! And what a long book it was, my GOODNESS. Thank you to everyone who read it with us–it’s been so fun chatting with everyone on Twitter, and we look forward to a lively discussion with you below as well! IT’S ALSO RECKONING TIME. Below you’ll find directions on how you may prove you completed/participated in the challenge this year. We have two giveaways, plus a little thing for some additional participants.     Kim: Okay, due to my most inconveniently timed illness I was only able to make it halfway through this book. Terrible! But I have been long familiar with the story ever since I saw the 1994 film adaptation as a wee one. (Also my first ever introduction to Little Women was this anime I had as a kid. It it very dear to teeny tiny Kim’s heart )… Read more »

Divider

Love Letters to the Dead: review

Love Letters to the Dead: review

Months ago, I had to put Love Letters to the Dead down because it was making me so desperately sad. Almost a full year later, I read the last half of it with a lump in my throat and tears dripping down my face. This is a profoundly moving meditation on grief, written with rare sensitivity and the kind of prose that nearly stops your heart with moments of quiet, anguished beauty. I cried throughout the book because there are so many small moments that so keenly observed bewilderment and pain, as well as anger and recklessness in the face of abandonment. This is a slow, contemplative, and occasionally blurry book, but it so skillfully weaves past and present together that when a devastating moment comes late in the story, it took me a minute to realize what was actually happening. My heart aches for this kind of intense, complicated… Read more »

Divider

This Shattered World: Meet the Characters + giveaway

This Shattered World: Meet the Characters + giveaway

If you’re a fan of Tarver and Lilac from These Broken Stars, I don’t even know how to explain how much you’re going to love the new characters in This Shattered World! This companion story set in the same universe follows the awesome Jubilee Chase and the guy she absolutely, positively should not get involved with, Flynn Cormac. And, well…you know how that goes. ;) I thought Tarver was going to be hard to live up to, but Flynn’s going to win you over fast–but not as fast as Jubilee does, because she’s kickass from page 1. I have a serious girl crush on her and I’m not afraid to admit it. There is so much to say about how the Starbound universe has deepened and expanded in this second book, but the characters are a great place to introduce you to this fantastic story. To kick off the official… Read more »

Divider

Classic MG Readalong: Farmer Boy

Classic MG Readalong: Farmer Boy

Hello, friends! Welcome to this month’s classics readalong discussion, where we’ll be gleefully chatting about Farmer Boy by Laura Ingalls Wilder. For those new to the series, this is a standalone historical fiction novel based on true people and events, written by the author about her husband’s boyhood on his family’s farm in the late 1800s. A reminder: You have ONE MONTH left to finish your classics readalong challenge for this year! Have you read and reviewed 8 books yet? Are you going to be able to? A little more on that below, plus info on the December/January books. We have so much pie to eat talk about, though, that we should just get started on our discussion! Wendy: I wanted to do this one for our readalong because it’s a nice standalone–plus it’s my favorite of the series! (Followed by The Long Winter, but for very different reasons–this one’s… Read more »

Divider

A Thousand Pieces of You: guest post + giveaway

A Thousand Pieces of You: guest post + giveaway

If you enjoy time parallel universe/time travel stories, A Thousand Pieces of You is probably on your TBR list already–and it’s a book that will likely appeal to fans of All Our Yesterdays and Every Day, particularly if you like romance! I’m a big fan of Claudia Gray’s Evernight series so was very excited to hear she had a new book coming out. I was also tickled to find that this story takes Marguerite to many different locations and time periods as she tries to solve the mystery behind her father’s murder, including a visit back to the Romanov empire. There have been several YA books with Russian settings this year, but this one definitely stands out with its scifi elements. As part of the official blog tour hosted by Rock Star Book Tours, the author is with us today to share why she felt absolutely compelled to write this… Read more »

Divider

This Shattered World: blog tour sign-up

This Shattered World: blog tour sign-up

We’re big fans of These Broken Stars here at The Midnight Garden, so when we were asked to host the tour for the second Starbound novel This Shattered World, how could we possibly resist? Last year’s tour was tons of fun, and I’m excited to be working with Amie and Meagan again. These authors are such a dream to work with, as they’re both super creative, responsive, and funny–and their guest posts and interviews are always entertaining and informative, both for their avid fans and for new readers. Tour Details We’re finalizing details of the tour, but here are the basics of what you can expect. As with all TMG tours, these are a labor of love for us, so you know you’re in for a good time when you see one! Tour Dates:      December 8 – 19th, 2014 Featuring:        Exclusive guest posts, interviews, character interviews, excerpts, and review stops… Read more »

Divider