The Impostor Queen glossary + giveaway

November 17, 2015 2015, fantasy, giveaway, guest post, sarah fine, Wendy 30

The Impostor Queen Banner

Today, we’re kicking off a mini tour for Sarah Fine’s upcoming book The Impostor Queen! Sarah is one of our favorite authors here at The Midnight Garden, and we’re all pretty excited about her new series.

About the Book:
Publication Date: January 5th, 2015

impostor queenThe elders chose Elli to be queen, but they chose wrong in this beautifully crafted novel in the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Victoria Aveyard.

Sixteen-year-old Elli was a small child when the Elders of Kupari chose her to succeed the Valtia, the queen who wields infinitely powerful ice and fire magic. Since then, Elli has lived in the temple, surrounded by luxury and tutored by priests, as she prepares for the day when the Valtia perishes and the magic finds a new home in her. Elli is destined to be the most powerful Valtia to ever rule.

But when the queen dies defending the kingdom from invading warriors, the magic doesn’t enter Elli. It’s nowhere to be found.

Disgraced, Elli flees to the outlands, the home of banished criminals—some who would love to see the temple burn with all its priests inside. As she finds her footing in this new world, Elli uncovers devastating new information about the Kupari magic, those who wield it, and the prophecy that foretold her destiny. Torn between the love she has for her people and her growing loyalty to the banished, Elli struggles to understand the true role she was meant to play. But as war looms, she must align with the right side—before the kingdom and its magic are completely destroyed.

Barnes & Noble | Amazon | Book Depository | IndieBound | Goodreads

About the Author:

Twitter | Facebook | Tumblr | Goodreads
Sarah Fine is the author of Of Metal and Wishes, Of Dreams and Rust, The Imposter Queen, and The Guards of the Shadowlands series. She was born on the West Coast, raised in the Midwest, and is now firmly entrenched on the East Coast, where she lives with her husband and two children. When she’s not writing, she’s working as a child psychologist. Visit her at SarahFineBooks.com.

To give you a sneak peek at the book, we have a glossary of terms to share with you today:

Impostor Queen glossaryI’m looking forward to learning more about these various names and terms, since Sarah’s books are always so strong in the world-building and characterizations! That “rarely lives to see her thirtieth birthday” thing sounds ominous. :D

vine-divider-final

The Impostor Queen giveaway

We also have a chance for you to win an advance readers copy of the book!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway is hosted by the tour host, and is provided by the publisher. Any applicable rules will be on the entry form.

vine-divider-final

Check out the other stops on the tour as well, where you’ll learn more about the series:

Monday, November 16: The Midnight Garden
Tuesday, November 17The Hiding Spot
Wednesday, November 18A Reader of Fictions
Thursday, November 19The Irish Banana Review

 

Our thanks to Gaby over at Bookish Broads for hosting the tour!

 

Are you a fan of Sarah’s books as well? Are you looking forward to this one?

Wendy signature teal

 

 

 

 

30 Responses to “The Impostor Queen glossary + giveaway”

  1. Yahong Chi

    Oh goodness, just look at that cover. Love the displaced type!

    Hmmm… I want to say that I’d like to control ice, because there’s so much of it where I live (LOL), and Elsa from Frozen has my heart. But I think in the end fire would be much more practical, and perhaps equally beautiful in its own way!
    Yahong Chi recently posted…Custom Order: The Jess Scarf

  2. Carina Olsen

    Gorgeous blog tour post Wendy. <3 Thank you so much for sharing about this book :D I have been thinking about getting it via Netgalley, as I can download it whenever I want. But I haven't been sure yet.. heard about a evil ending, lol. I must look more into that before I download it :) But anyway. It do sound so awesome :D And looks pretty too. I hope you will love it when you read it sweet girl :)
    Carina Olsen recently posted…In My Mailbox #212

  3. Jacqui

    Ice, because I can’t stand the heat and while fire is pretty nice sometimes ice would be a pretty cool power

  4. Ellie

    I think I’d like to control fire. Keep my fingers and toes warm in the coming winter months :P I seriously can not wait for this book, I’ve had it on my TBR list for what feels like ever!
    Ellie recently posted…I HAVE AN AGENT!

  5. J. Oh

    I discovered the Guardians of the Shadowlands books thanks to TMG, and LOVED it. Definitely my favorite romance in YA (and maybe all of contemporary published fiction). This sounds awesome! I’m so excited. Even just reading the glossary gives me a sense for how rich the world is going to be. Hooray! :)

  6. Sophia D

    Definitely Fire… though its such a deadly force, its such a beautiful thing to watch. The discovery of fire is what to our human progress as well!

  7. Vivien

    Oh man that is such a tough question. I would probably choose Ice just because it seems more useful to me. I could construct Ice structures and bridges and whatnot. This sounds fantastic!! I’ve only read Of Metal and Wishes and just loved it. I’ve been wanting/needing to read more from Sarah!

  8. Jennifer

    That’s one book I am looking forward since I found the idea intriguing. Ice seems a so prettier element but fire seems more convenient and dangerous, but I don’t like cold so I will pick fire.

  9. Ally M

    Love the description of this and just realized I have several of Sarah Fine’s books on my “to read” shelf. Maybe I should get on that! :)

  10. Nikki

    I haven’t read anything by this author yet but have many of her books on my TBR pile already. Looks like I’ll be adding another!

  11. Lia

    I LOVE Of Metal and Wishes! I actually found out about through your review! I would love to read more books by Sarah :)

    • Wendy Darling

      Oh man, if you like urban fantasy, her Guards of the Shadowlands series is great, especially the first book–and she has a lovely dark gothic story that’s loosely based on THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA, called OF METAL AND WISHES. All her books are worth checking out! If you click her name, you’ll see our previous reviews of her books.
      Wendy Darling recently posted…The Scorpion Rules: Review + Erin Bow dinner + giveaway