Demonglass (Hex Hall #2): review

May 2, 2011 4 star books, demons, hilarious, rachel hawkins, Wendy, witches 1

Demonglass
by Rachel Hawkins

I love a good paranormal book as much as the next person, but sometimes they take themselves too seriously. Enter Rachel Hawkins’ Hex Hall series, which follows the hilarious 16-year-old Sophie Mercer as she enters a reform school for supernatural kids. In the first installment, she learns that her father is a powerful warlock and that she’s inherited powers that are greatly coveted and feared–and tries to stop an attacking werewolf by yelling, “Bad dog!”

I’m happy to report that Demonglass retains the same sarcastic humor and snappy, action-packed plot. Sophie is spending some time on her father’s estate to figure out whether she’s going to keep her awesome but pesky powers, and she’s still secretly pining for her missing demon-hunter crush, Archer Cross. Complicating matters is the revelation that cute-as-heck Cal has been betrothed to her for years (hey, they do things differently in the otherworld) and the afore-mentioned crush is part of The Eye, a group hell-bent on wiping out all of Sophie’s kind. Kinda puts a damper on the relationship.

The politics and power struggles within the Prodigium (witches, shapeshifters, and fairies) and with the demon hunters is growing steadily more complicated, and Sophie and her father must develop her gifts before time runs out. It would be interesting to see more of the plotting ladies within the Prodigium and to have the tension ratcheted up with The Eye, but hopefully these will be further explored in future books.

The author does a fabulous job of moving the story along with cheeky attitude, however, while taking time out for real connections between Sophie and her BFF Jenna and between her and her dad. There are also some brief but swoon-worthy moments with her guy, and you really breeze through this thing rooting for everyone to be happy. I’m really enjoying Sophie and her smart and snappy banter, and I’m looking forward to seeing where the story will be going next.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

30-second summary: contains fast-paced action and a smart-aleck demon who’s still figuring out her powers and her love life. Recommended for fans of Hold Me Closer, Necromancer and Meg Cabot.

One Response to “Demonglass (Hex Hall #2): review”

  1. Sarahbotbonkers

    Oh, Wendy. You made me want to read the series. It really sounds interesting. And I really admire how you review books. How do you do it? :)

    BTW, I have a new blog. I would really appreciate it if you’d visit it and tell me what you think. I know I’ll never be at your caliber when it comes to reviewing but I want to give it a shot.

    PS Sorry for my shameless plugging. Here’s my blog url:http://smittenoverbooks.blogspot.com/